There's No I in Team

The "There's No I In Team" Award was initiated in the late 1990's by the Greater New Haven Baseball Umpire's Association and originally honored a single athlete.  In 2005, the Southern Connecticut Diamond Club was established, and assumed responsibility for the awards program while expanding it to all high schools in the Southern Connecticut Region.  Athletic Directors and coaches jointly make the decision for their recipient. While it is recommended they choose a senior, they are free to select any player they feel gave the most unselfishly to their program.  

The award is named in honor of John "Whitey" Piurek, former baseball coach and athletic director at West Haven High School.

Winners are awared in June at an in person banquet and attend for free.   

High Schools that are part of the event:

- Amity

- Ansonia

- Branford

- Canterbury School

- Cheshire

- Derby

- East Haven

- Eli Whitney

- Fairfield Prep

- Foran

- Guilford

- Hamden Hall

- Hamden High

- Hand

- Hill Career

- Hillhouse

- Hopkins

- J. Law

- Morgan

- North Branford

- North Haven

- Notre Dame

- Old Saybrook

- Platt

- Platt RVTS

- Sheehan

- Shelton

- Southington

- Westbrook

- West Haven

- Wilbur Cross

- Xavier