The award is named after George Klivak


George "Ginger" Klivak signed with the Toronto Maple Leafs of the International League out of high school in 1938. After being drafted, Klivak was stationed at Manhattan Beach for the U.S. Coast Guard. He still found time to play ball, coming home on weekends to pitch for the West Haven Sailors and other local teams.

After the war ended, Klivak opted to stay in West Haven, where he had a comfortable job during the week and could also play for the Sailors in his spare time. Klivak was one of the Sailors' top pitchers and was called upon for a game in 1948 against the Birmingham Black Batons of the Negro League.

Klivak also pitched for the Baltimore Orioles Triple A organization and served as Secretary/ Treasurer for the Greater New Haven Board of Umpires Association for more than twenty years. He is a member of the Hall of Fame of the Greater New Haven Diamond Club.

He passed away on Aug. 16, 2007 at the age of 91.

The Team of the Year award is given out annually at the "There's No I In Team" Dinner. It is given to the best high school team in the region, as nominated by their peers. 


2007 - Amity, SCC
Lyme-Old Lyme - Shoreline
Hopkins - Independent
2008 - Guilford H.S.
2009 - Jonathan Law H.S.
2010 - Amity Regional High School
2011 - Branford High School
2012 - Derby High School
2013 - Xavier High School
2014- Johnathan Law H.S.
2015 - Fairfield Prep

2016 - Hamden High School

2017 - Amity Regional

2018 - Fairfield Prep

2019 - Cheshire High 

2021 - West Haven & Hamden 

2022 - Amity Regional

2023- Guilford High School

2024 - Daniel Hand & North Branford