2012 winner Scott Gura pictured with Sam Burrell

The coach of the year award is given annually at the "There's No I In Team" banquet in June. The recipient is an area high school coach as voted on by his peers in the Southern Connecticut Region.  The award honors coaches whose team shows sportsmanship and a positive attitude. 

The 2019 recipient is Mike Lussier of Cheshire High School

The award is named in honor of legendary coach Samuel A. Burrell, Jr. 

          Sam taught in the New Haven school system and worked in the central office of the physical education department. He coached baseball at Wilbur Cross High School and later was the head baseball coach at Hillhouse High School. He also coached American Legion Post 47 baseball from 1956 to 1967 and won several zone championships.

            In 1968 he was appointed head freshman baseball coach at Yale University, where he coached for many years, and is believed to be the first black intercollegiate coach at Yale. He later became an assistant freshman football coach at Yale from 1979 to 1992. In 1993 he was appointed to the Yale varsity football staff where he served until 1996. Currently, he is the community outreach coordinator for the Yale Athletic Department.

Past Winners:

2007 - Pete Civitello, Guilford H.S.

2008 -Ed Marocco, Shelton H.S.

2009 - Mike Anquillare, West Haven H.S.

2010 - Steven DeCrosta, Hyde Leadership School

2011 - Billy Mitchell
North Branford High School

2012 - Scott Gura, Shelton High School

2013 - Rich Magner, Xavier High School

2014 - Greg Simler, Johnathan Law

2015 - Chris Borelli, Hamden High School

2016- Jeff Farrell
Wilbur Cross High

2017 - Brian Hayden 
Guilford High School

2018 - Travis LaPointe

Daniel Hand High School